Lodwar, 1st October 2021 (Governor’s Press Service)- Religious leaders have been asked to pray for politicians to engage in peaceful campaigns as the country heads to next year’s general election.

Speaking today during the consecration of Bishop Francis Namuya as the Regional Overseer of the Turkana Region of the Full Gospel Churches of Kenya (FGCK) in Lodwar, the Governor said the church played a critical role to ensure stability in the County and Kenya.

“I ask church leaders to pray for leaders as our country heads into 2022 campaigns, that they have wisdom, engage in politics that is devoid of insults and violence,” he said, adding that it was through prayer that good leaders will be elected in the County and national seats.

“With prayer we will get a good Governor, MPs, Senator, MCAs and president who will listen to issues from the electorate. I believe that God will listen to our prayers and give guidance,” the Governor said.

He implored on politicians to respect wisdom of voters, seek their votes by arguing their qualification and let residents make independent choices.

Governor Nanok who was accompanied by County First Lady Margaret Nanok, congratulated Bishop Namuya on his consecration and expressed appreciation for the pastor’s constant prayer and advice to all leaders.

Uasin Gishu Governor Jackson Mandago who represented Deputy President William Ruto at the ceremony asked religious leaders not to bar politicians from church attendance, insisting that they too needed God’s guidance.

The consecration was presided over by the FGCK General Overseer Bishop Dr. David Macharia. Leaders at the ceremony were Senator Malachy Ekal, Speaker of County Assembly Ekitela Lokaale, MPs James Lomenen (Turkana South), Daniel Epuyo (Turkana West), Jeremiah Lomurkai (Loima) and Joyce Emanikor (Women Rep); MCAs Robert Lowoko (Lodwar Township) and James Ikeny (Kanamkemer) among others.

Senior County Government officials present included County Executive Philip Aemun (Agriculture, Pastoral Economy and Fisheries) and Emathe Namuar (Finance and Economic Planning), TCPSB Chair Dr. John Ng’asike among others.