Lodwar, 16th October 2020 (Governor’s Press Service)— Turkana leaders questioned the recruitment process of teachers in the region by the Teacher’s Service Commission (TSC), with non-residents picked over residents.

Led by Governor Josphat Nanok, the leaders have called for affirmative action in the recruitment to ensure residents of Turkana take available positions.

Speaking in Nakwamekwi, Lodwar, during the burial of former Lakezone MCA Moses Lomobong and Chairman County Audit Committee, the Governor said the County Government was fair in its recruitment with 60 of available opportunities given to non-residents for sectors with few skilled workforce from Turkana.

“TSC in recruitment to fill 46 position chooses to go for teachers from outside the county yet we have over 300 graduates from Turkana. Who is better qualified to address residents of Turkana? Employ those qualified from here who will stay here and can work in any corner of Turkana,” he said.

The Governor, who was accompanied by County First Lady Margaret Nanok, asked why affirmative action to employ more locals in Turkana was not being applied like in other ASALs counties such as Samburu and Isiolo.

Turkana North MP Christopher Nakuleu who is the chair of the MPs caucus also questioned lack of procedure in teacher recruitment process and promised that leaders will keep pushing for fairness.

Senator Malachy Ekal said practice to hire locals was common in other regions and wondered why Turkana was an exception.

Governor Nanok paid tribute to the late Lomobong as a selfless leader, industrious and passionate about development of the ward as evident in his track record as Lakezone MCA between 2013 and 2017.

He reiterated that he will not retire from politics post 2022 and promised to ensure that his successor was equal to task in extending his transformative agenda of Turkana.

He urged County Government staff to serve with deligence as public servants and be accountable in management of resources.

The County boss said leaders will work to ensure the region was part of the equation of forming government in 2022.

On the political future of Turkana, the Governor insisted that elected leaders had resolved to speak in one voice on issues affecting the region. He gave an example of the consensus in distribution of resources to be funded by Sh2.8 billion as CSR from construction of the Lokichar-Nakodok A1 road.

He wondered why there was no single resident of Turkana in recent appointment by President Uhuru Kenyatta of Ambassadors, high commissioners and permanent representatives. He said the region had lost even the one Ambassador position held by Amb. Richard Ekai as Kenya envoy to Russia.

The Governor assured residents living along Lake Turkana that the County Government and partners will support those affected by rising levels of Lake Turkana. He revealed that the National Government was carrying out assessment of flooded lakes in the Rift Valley, which will advise support for those affected.

As a solution to the danger of spill-over at the Turkwel dam, Governor Nanok proposed that the National Government activate irrigation schemes along River Turkwel and supply surplus water to help solve water shortage in parts of Turkana.

Deputy Governor Peter Lotethiro who is the Chair of the County Emergency Response Committee (CERC) raised alarm on rising number of Covid-19 infection in the county, warning of dangers of failure to adhere to health precautions against the virus.

Speaker of the County Assembly Ekitela Lokaale led the House in paying tribute to the late Lomobong, and urged for continued unity of leaders.

Other leaders who spoke included MPs John Lodepe (Turkana Central) and Jeremiah Lomurkai (Loima); former Speaker of the County Assembly Geoffrey Kaituko and Deputy County Secretary Robert Loyelei.

Senior County Government officials present included County Executives Emathe Namuar (Finance and Economic Planning), Jane Ajele (Health), Chris Aletia (Water, Environment and Mineral Resources), Charles Lokiyoto (Education, Sports and Social Protection), Jennifer Nawoi (Lands, Energy, Housing and Urban Areas Development) and Patrick Losike (Infrastructure, Transport and Public Works).

Chief Officers were Abraham Losinyen (Finance), Joshua Lemuya (Lands) and Pauline Lokuruka (Education).